What makes God happy?

I feel so happy when I can make someone smile. Just last night I was getting all excited because something I said made Jamie laugh. In a similar way, I love to make people happy with the things I accomplish. I do the same thing in my relationship with God. I sometimes take my little accomplishments and hold them up to God saying, “Wow, look at me God. You must be so happy.” This morning I was reading Psalm 147 and found this little gem:

His delight is not in the strength of the horse, nor his pleasure in the legs of a man, but the Lord takes pleasure in those who fear him, in those who hope in his steadfast love. (‭Psalm‬ ‭147‬:‭10-11‬)

God’s not happy with me because I have a big horse or because I figure everything out myself. He delights in people who trust in Him and work things out with Him. We chase after God because it’s His joy to connect with us. Everything we do is just a byproduct of that deep relationship.

Leave a Reply

