Circle Maker: A Business Testimony

I recently started reading Circle Maker , a great book on prayer by Mark Batterson. Here’s a testimony about God restoring hope in my life.

On a particularly frustrating day in the coffee shop, I was crying out to God.  As I prayed, I felt led to Exodus 3 and read about Moses’ encounter in the burning bush.  I can’t stress how important it is that we “turn aside” when we sense something is different.  There are so many encounters in life we are missing because we aren’t present. At any rate, it says “When the Lord saw that he had gone over to look, God called to him from within the bush” (Exodus 3:4).  God is taking note of what we do and when we intentionally turn toward him, something great happens.  He calls out to us.  His words create.  It’s worth listening to what He’s creating.

As I was contemplating this, I started flipping through Batterson’s text and a chapter jumped out at me: “The Favor of Him Who Dwells in the Bush.”  With that kind of connection, and wanting to “turn aside,” I started reading.  Turns out, the entire chapter is about a church that started a coffee shop after 8 years of prayer, overcoming a plethora of invariably difficult circumstances including 1) a building that was 3 times their budget, 2) changing zoning laws, and 3) neighbors in aggressive opposition.  They are now rated #1 in the DC metro area.

This story gave me such a refreshed and renewed vision for what He wants to do here at Aroma.  Rather than imagining the worst, my rekindled desire is to see God’s best played out here at Aroma and I’m excited to pursue that with all the worldwide Aroma Family. We also had 4 days of relatively high sales in a row since that day.

I don’t know what the future holds for us at Aroma, but I do know the “favor of Him who dwells in the bush” is on all of us who are willing to “turn aside.”

Leave a Reply

