Aroma DNA: To God

As I mentioned before, we’ve recently gone through a series on our Church DNA.  Here are notes from our first and most important week: being the Aroma TO GOD.

Aroma To God

The heart of Aroma Church is being the Aroma TO GOD

In our first step in the “Aroma DNA Series,” we need to focus on the most important aspect of being The Aroma.  It’s about God.  We become The Aroma by allowing God to come into our lives and change us.  For this, I focus on two important portions of Scripture.

  • Matthew 7:21-27.  In this passage, Jesus says “I never knew (ginosko – learn, perceive, feel, understand, aware, certain, feel, recognize, take notice, understand) you” to a group of people who think they have God figured out because they can perform some miracles. God wants to know you. I’m afraid He doesn’t “know” many of us. It’s not primarily about how many miracles you do, or how big you build what God has called you to, or whatever. Our first and foremost ministry is to God himself. Some of us think about and see a lot of need around us. I’m one who sees needs and wants to jump in and help. I often take on projects and tasks just to help people out. But, the truth is, my primary “ministry” is to God himself. Our most important job is to smell like Jesus to God himself. Have you ever thought about how your most important ministry is to God. This is so hard for me. I so want to do things to make people happy. I have a bit of a Messiah Complex. I just want to work hard for people. I end up getting myself into more trouble. When I do this, it’s not about God. It becomes more and more about me. It’s what I can accomplish. It’s what I can say I built. So, this truth is so freeing, to be honest. It’s about God. You can trust Him. He’s God.
  • 1 Samuel 16:7, “the Lord looks at the heart.” The Bible says that David was a man after God’s own heart. David had it in his mind to build the temple. God wouldn’t let him, but he had it in his mind. David was a man after God’s heart. David has a real relationship with God. Don’t tell God what you think He wants to hear. Say it how it really is. In college, I had a friend who had such a simple way of talking to God and hearing from Him. I feel like I make things too complicated. We used to have these times we would get together and we would make a tent out of a blanket. We would sit in the tent and we would pray together. He made a cd. They had this song called “Praise You.” I remember one time we went in there when he broke up with his girlfriend. He was super-hurt. I remember how his words were so true to where he was at, but also so honoring to God. He now has a beautiful family. What’s your smell to God? The gospel makes us smell like a sweet fragrance to God. Without Jesus, the Bible says we are like “filthy rags” (Isaiah 64:6, tampons). But when Jesus enters, He becomes your sweet aroma. Believe your way to heaven or work your way to hell. Do you trust God?
Leave a Reply

