Idea Super Glue (or Made to Stick)

I was given a copy of “Made to Stick” a few months ago. In a response to some feedback about my communication, I decided to pick it  up and give it a read. I wish I had read it when I first received it. What an excellent book. Here’s a brief summary and a short ruling on why I think it’s worth your time to read it for yourself.

The brothers Chip and Dean Heath approach the topic of effective communication from several different avenues to help us understand why some ideas stay with us  while others fade into oblivion. More than theory, these practitioners give concrete evidence and methods to help anyone make their ideas “sticky.” Their hope is that worthwhile ideas will stand a chance in a culture that is saturated with less than ideal mantras consuming the majority of our memory capacity. Essentially, sticky ideas have these 6 elements:

  1. Simplicity
  2. Unexpectedness
  3. Concreteness
  4. Credibility
  5. Emotion
  6. Stories

If you’re a communicator of any type (sales person, manager, , I highly suggest picking up a copy and applying its principles to the content you’re creating. Just yesterday I remarked to a friend, “Communication is more than just content.” I hope your worthwhile content gets a layer of super glue so that you can communicate effective change.  What has your experience been with a sticky idea?

Leave a Reply

