4 Secrets and 8 Links to Losing It

Embed from Getty Images

I’m nowhere near the healthiest person I know, but I have been thinking that a few small changes in my sleep, diet, exercise, and time management could do a lot for me, my family, my work and my legacy. Since I started counting a few weeks ago, I’ve lost 5lbs. At 30, I still have double my age and then some before retirement. I’d like to think I could keep going after that. Here are a few things I want to do to make sure I’ll be around then

  • Sleep More: This is no surprise, but sleeping more helps your body, mind and spirit take leaps and bounds in health and productivity. ReWork, a book written by big shots in Silicon Valley, actually has an entire chapter dedicated to sleeping. Rest was built into our lives from the beginning and we do better when we work from rest rather than rest from work.
  • Eat Less (aka Eat Less Sugar): FedUp tells us that Sugar is toxic. So, it’s simple. Just eat less sugar. But, it doesn’t always work out that way. The choice is yours. Additionally, the Leadership Freak blog shares a secret to staying healthy: don’t eat emotionally.
  • Eat More (aka Drink More Coffee): Studies show coffee helps, among other things, in circulation, pain, memory and muscle. Additionally, eating more greens are definitely the way to go. Counting calories, while not actually helpful, motivates me in one way: I say no to emotional eating and yes to healthier choices.
  • Watch Your Time: James Clear has written a brilliant article on improving by 1%. You could do this. Get Toggl and track your time for a week. You’ll be surprised and have some instant ways to move forward.

It’s not about weight. It’s about health. It’s about making steps towards the fulfillment of destiny. You can do this. Today.

Leave a Reply

