Crisis: Danger or Opportunity?


Recently, I had a breakdown. I found myself crying the floor this week. I was overwhelmed by the difficulties I’m facing in various areas of my responsibility. I had a strong sense of being overwhelmed. There was anxiety growing and taking root in my heart. I had allowed lies about God’s vision and provision for me to stand.

Fortunately, I had a couple of friends around me who were willing to get down next to me and worship with me for more than an hour as we asked God to come and encounter us. 

The following Sunday, a guest speaker gave a word about prayer that touched me deeply. You can watch his sermon here

At one point, Pastor Dave said this: Every crisis is a crossroads between danger and opportunity. The path you walk is up to you. Out of interest, his idea of crisis being danger and opportunity came from his exegesis of the word Chinese word for crisis: 危機, which is the word for danger and the word for opportunity combined together. 

It reminds me of the story of David fighting a battle in 1 Samuel 30. It says, David was “greatly distressed.” At this point, he had an enemy that had defeated him and his own men were considering mutiny. Everyone was “bitter in soul.” But David “strengthened himself in the Lord his God” (1 Samuel 30:6). David pursued God in worship, got the answer he needed for the situation he faced, rallied his men, defeated the enemy and restored all that had been lost. He faced a crisis and turned it into an opportunity. 
I’m not out of the woods yet, but I know which choice I’ll be making. This is a crisis; it’s an opportunity. 

Leave a Reply

