One Thing

Embed from Getty Images

The Book
The Song
The Sermon
The Prayer

I recently finished reading a book called One Thing, by Keller and Papasan. Essentially, the authors assert that answering well one question can change the entire focus and scope of our personal lives and careers. The one question is: What’s the ONE Thing you can do such that by doing it everything else will be easier or unnecessary?” A better summary can be found here. This book has gotten me thinking about my ONE Thing.

I have a favorite song from Bethel entitled, “You are my One Thing.”

I went on a run and listened to a sermon that talked about the importance of prayer.

I remember David’s request in Psalm 27:4. He wanted “one thing.”

It seems every thing has been pointing to one thing. Answering this question is life-changing. But there are few who are willing to do this and I’m not sure I’m one of them. I’m asking God for the courage to ask and answer these questions; to do something about them.

 

Leave a Reply

